Moscow, the most expensive city in the world!

6 Mar

I know it’s impolite and stylistically incorrect to give away the conclusion in the title, but, come on, you know you want to know… Besides it’s not like opening christmas presents before christmas, because in this case you have nothing to look forward to… (although you would be lucky if I came down your chimney…)

 

“there are 3 kinds of lies, lies, damned lies and statistics”…

Benjamin Disraeli*

 

Moscow, expensive…

I have lost count of the number of inane teapots which have spouted this predication along with their usual steam. Personnally, I am always broke or at least damn near to breaking point, so much so, that I am now a self proclaimed expert of the cheaper things in life and a self indulgent epicurian, minus the tedious fasting. So I have now decided upon my mission during my time as a muscovite, as a Jesus, but without the apostles; I will seek out worthy waterholes for my fellow financially exsanguinated expats… so that we might also break some bread, eat some fish and quench our thirst with the brew of the gods.

Moscow really expensive?

Well yes, if you decide to invest in real estate, buy shares in oil and gas, eat at Michelin star restaurants every other night… and if you think Moscow is a Smörgåsbord of bejewelled baboushkas and middle aged millionaires, well you might not be reading the right article…

For all those others roughing it in Russia, life need not be a desolate winter desert of irksome fastfood joints where only the only weeds to flourish are Mc Donalds and Subway. So follow me down the rabbit hole to where the cool kids hang out, where gourmets are kopekless and the staff are rude…

Because the food is good and the beer is cheap!

 

PS:                          “People do not believe lies because they have to, but because they want to”

Malcolm Muggeridge

 

*this is up for debate, Benjamin or Mark (Twain), Mark or Benjamin? From the same century so I’m going with the guy who lived on an island… Why you may ask, and why not shall always be my final answer.

Leave a Reply

